Turing100 Lecture: Leslie Lamport by Madhavan Mukund; Skilling for SMAC by Anand Deshpande

Persistent System presents a talk on the life and work of Turing Award Winner Leslie Lamport, on 28 June, 2pm to 5pm, at the Dewang Mehta Auditorium, Persistent, SB Road.

In March 2014, Leslie Lamport was named the 2013 winner of the Alan Turing Award of the Association for Computing Machinery(ACM), widely regarded as the Nobel Prize in computing.

Over the past 40 years, Lamport has made several foundational contributions to the theory and practice of distributed computing. His early work includes the Bakery Algorithm for the mutual exclusion problem and an insightful paper on the importance of causality in a distributed system. He later investigated fault tolerance in the presence of so-called Byzantine failures—worst case scenarios that could disrupt the correct functioning of a distributed system. His distributed consensus algorithm Paxos is widely used in many modern replicated data storage systems. A recurrent theme in his work is the importance of precise specifications and formal reasoning in ensuring the correctness of concurrent systems.

Speaker: Madhavan Mukund, Dean of Studies, Chennai Mathematical Institute

After that there will be a short break for tea, followed by a talk on:

Skilling for SMAC – by Anand Deshpande

Social-Mobile-Analytics-Cloud (SMAC) technologies will play a significant role in the building of next generation software products and solutions. Building solutions on this SMAC-stack requires a unique set of technical skills, different from the traditional software programming. This talk will focus on some of the upcoming SMAC trends and the skills needed to stay relevant as these trends unfold.

Speaker: Anand Deshpande, CMD, Persistent

The event is free for everyone to attend. Register here

About the Turing Awards

The Turing awards, named after Alan Turing, given every year, are the highest achievement that a computer scientist can earn. And the contributions of each Turing award winner are then, arguably, the most important topics in computer science.

About Turing 100 @ Persistent Lecture Series

This is year 2 of the the Turing 100 @ Persistent lecture series. The series started in 2012 to celebrates the 100th anniversary of Alan Turing’s birth by having a monthly lecture series, and the success of the talk series in year 1 has resulted in the series being continued in 2013. Each lecture is be presented by an eminent personality from the computer science / technology community in India, and covers the work done by one Turing award winner.

The lecture series has featured, or will feature talks on Ted Codd (Relational Databases), Vint Cerf and Robert Kahn (Internet) Ken Thompson and Dennis Ritchie (Unix), Jim Gray, Barbara Liskov, and others. Latest schedule is here

This is a lecture series that any one in the field of computer science must attend. These lectures will cover the fundamentals of computer science, and all of them are very relevant today.

All the slides and videos of all the talks in the last year are available here.

Fees and Registration

The event will be at Dewang Mehta Auditorium, Persistent Systems, SB Road, from 2pm to 5pm on Saturday 28 June

This event is free and open for anybody to attend. Register here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *